Ofelia Dress and Bloomers

5 Jun

With the warmer weather here,  I am realizing that H. is in some serious need of  summer clothes.  I tried my first pattern by Figgy’s Studio this week, and made H. the Ofelia Dress using a yard of Denyse Schmidt’s Flea Market Fancy line that was in my fabric stash.  I love just about every print in this line and regret not having purchased more.  The Ofelia pattern calls for French seams.  I have been dying to try sewing a French seam ever since I saw a garment sewn using French seams back in the fall.  Now that I am able to resume back to my somewhat normal schedule, I felt ready to try something new.  I used this handy O&S tutorial on how to sew a French seam and was amazed at how easy it is.  I can’t tell you how excited I am having this new technique under my belt.

I made the Ofelia Bloomers using sand-colored linen.  For the elastic casing at the bottom, I used pink bias tape hoping this would convince H. to wear them, but since she doesn’t like pants, she complained even at my small request to try them on.

She wasn’t too pleased to be wearing them as you can see in the photo below.  I didn’t even have enough time to straighten out the bloomers for the photo before she took them off.  The pant legs are really the same length.  The bloomers turned out really cute, but  I’m not sure she will be getting much use out of these this summer.

4 Responses to “Ofelia Dress and Bloomers”

  1. Jeannine June 5, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    I love your color combination. The dress turned out too cute. I am not sure whether I will ever make use of the bloomers either, but they sure do look cute.

  2. Este June 6, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Love the dress and the bloomers — I love the idea of bloomers even. And even more I love the ‘not happy’ face on H, which is adorable.

  3. crista June 6, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Oh I loved this dress on her the color is great on her, and the bloomers are so clever!

  4. Sandi June 16, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Couldn’t you convince her that these are shorts? She seems happy in the shorts she had on in the pics with the ice cream blouse.

Leave a Reply

