Anna Tunic Dress

27 May

I suppose the sole benefit of having to take an unexpected day off from work due to an act of vandalism is that I get to do a little day-time sewing.  It is extremely rare that I get time alone at home, but in between making phones calls, filing various reports and walking the kids to and from school, I was able to pull out my abandoned Anna tunic dress and finish it yesterday.  A few months back, I splurged and purchased a few yards of the Purple Flowers print by Liberty of London from the Tana Lawn line. I adore Liberty of London fabric and wish I could indulge more often. For the lining, I used the same sateen cotton fabric I used to make this bubble dress.

The dress turned out to be a bit too big.  I will readily admit my alterations skills are lacking, so after a few hours spent tweaking the dress, I ended up taking in the waist and leaving it blousey up top. (Please ignore the messy unmade guest bed in the background.  I was in the  midst of changing the sheets)

For the back, I covered buttons using some leftover fabric.  The back closure is my favorite part of the entire dress.

This was the first time I ever used an Amy Butler pattern.  Overall, I liked it and would like to make the tunic or mini-dress version of this pattern.  I may try it without the lining the next time around.

Now that things at work are settling down and I am able go back to my normal level of busyness, I’m hoping to be able to get back to more nightly knitting and sewing.

3 Responses to “Anna Tunic Dress”

  1. Este May 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    yay! sorry to hear about the vandalism, but I love the dress and especially the fabric. I have missed your posts!!!

  2. Heather June 10, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    This is *such* a lovely dress Jeanne. I particularly like the way the top fits then the tie! It’s always fun to see what you’ll make next. I’m SO behind on all the blogging I want to do, particularly in regard to my kitchen projects!

    • bobble June 10, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

      Thanks, Heather. How was your trip and how does it feel to be back in our old stomping grounds? I can’t wait to read more about your adventures once you update your blog. I may be heading your way later in the summer. I’ll send you an e-mail when I have firm plans!

Leave a Reply

