Squeezed in a bit of weekend sewing

28 Apr

I have a really hard time turning people away when they ask me to help them.  Even though I rarely form New Year’s resolutions, I decided I would try to say ‘no’ more often this year.  Well, I managed to break that promise going into the second week of 2010.

Now, I am feeling the repercussions of not saying no.  Why I agreed to co-chair the committee planning my daughter’s school May auction when April and May are typically one of my busiest times at work, I don’t know.  It is like planning my wedding all over.  Although, I don’t get to be bride-zilla (not that I ever was) and stomp my feet until I get exactly what I want.  Don’t get me wrong.  I have enjoyed planning this event and am really looking forward to the auction, but as the auction creeps closer and closer, I have no time to sew and knit.  My poor opera gloves I have been knitting are going no where.  The Anna Tunic I have cut and starting sewing 2 weeks ago is collecting dust.

I did manage to squeeze in one night of sewing on Saturday after H & J were in bed. I made a pencil roll to accompany a personalized notebook for one of J’s classmates.

I also made a Weekend Travel Bag for a friend’s birthday.

I’m hoping these two small sewing projects will prevent me from going through sewing withdrawals….

3 Responses to “Squeezed in a bit of weekend sewing”

  1. Este April 28, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    I know what you mean about no! I love the fabric on the travel bag…

  2. Shelle May 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    i love these little knick knacks…i got a sewing machine for mother’s day, but i don’t know when i’ll have the chance to use it.

  3. Meredith May 13, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Hi. What pattern do you use for your crayon roll? I would love to make one!

Leave a Reply

