No Easter Dress, but She Does Have a New Spring Jacket

3 Apr

I always love seeing all the Easter dresses around this time of year, but I have never made one for H. This year is no different. Instead I used my sewing time this week to make her a new spring jacket in place of a dress. I opted for the functional over the occasional. The light weight jacket I made for H in 2008 has gotten too small, so I made her another O&S Sunday Brunch Jacket using mattress ticking. I recently splurged on Green Olives Design’s Meridian Striped Jumper made with mattress ticking.  Ever since, I keep thinking of all these things I could made with mattress ticking.

The new Oliver and S spring and summer patterns go on sale on Monday!  Looking forward to making a few new items for H & J.

7 Responses to “No Easter Dress, but She Does Have a New Spring Jacket”

  1. larissa April 3, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Oh, that is just perfect! I love the ticking. You always do such a professional looking job.

  2. Crista April 3, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Lovely! She looks great

  3. Este April 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    i’d take a new spring jacket over an easter dress any day! and that mattress ticking looks outstanding. plus you have the best model, i especially like her updo 🙂

  4. Kathode Ray Tube April 9, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I love that jacket, both the design and the material! It looked lovely on H. yesterday, despite the cold temps.

  5. Karen April 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I love this jacket – I’ve had one cut out since last year, you’ve inspired me to finish it!

  6. Mary May 18, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    What an adorable jacket and model! Heck -I think the fact that everyones smiling makes it all alright and it looks lovely on her too! Great job!

  7. Claudine July 9, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    This jacket is adorable. I love ticking, as well, and love what you have done with the stripes going in different directions. You blog is new to me. You have a terrific sense of which fabrics to put together. I am enjoying looking through your posts.

Leave a Reply

