Dandelion Dress

10 Mar

Every since I got it, I have found myself flipping through the new Built By Wendy Dresses book after the kids are in bed for the eventing.  It is so inspiring.  The book has 3 base patterns which you can manipulate to create an endless number of dresses. I decided to start off with Project 1 using 2 yards of Dandelions in mustard from the Flora and Fauna line by Patty Young.

Since each project in the book has you make modifications to the base pattern, I put my pattern making skills to the test. With this dress, I ended up make a few adjustments.  I added a pair of darts in the back, and took in the sleeves, bust, and hip area. The pattern piece I made for the yoke facing went terribly wrong, so I improvised and made a new one on the fly.

I have a bit of a soft spot in my heart for the dandelion print in this line (I also have it in raspberry for a dress for H.). The moms group in my neighborhood divides kids up based on when they were born and gives each group a cute little name.  My daughter falls into the Dandelions group (J. is an Inchworm).  Over the past few years, I have developed some amazing bonds with other moms I met through the Dandelion group. The sense of community that has sprouted up surrounding our families has been pretty phenomenal.

9 Responses to “Dandelion Dress”

  1. Este March 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Wow this is an amazing dress! Just lovely. And the meaning behind the dandelions makes it even more so.

  2. Crista March 10, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    How nice! I love the fabric and colour. I also love the waist with the little “belt’ Can’t wait to see it in person!

  3. melinda March 11, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Really beautiful. I have just brought this book as well and have been obsessively flicking through it. I love it! Her other 2 books are just as inspiring as well.

    That fabric is gorgeous – perfect for this dress.

  4. Lisa March 11, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    That is adorable – the dress and the dandelions group.

  5. genevieve March 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I love this dress! especially the belt detail (and the dandelion print)…I can’t wait to get the book.

  6. Karen March 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Ah shucks…we love you too! So will you make a dress like this for all of us dandelion moms? It would go really well with the rest of the uniform!

  7. sewbissy March 14, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    This dress is so pretty! I love the Built by Wendy dress book, too. Such a cute fabric.

  8. Florence March 19, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Goodness, I can’t believe that I haven’t found your blog before now…the clothes that you make are stunning. I love the fabric that you’ve used here.

    Florence x

  9. peanut March 27, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    Beautiful 🙂

    I love you buttons.

Leave a Reply

