My son is tortured by my sewing

5 Mar

J. is much pickier than his sister is when it comes to his wardrobe.  The only items of clothing he will wear all have to have some relationship to baseball, basketball, or hockey (listed in the order of preference).  Even if there isn’t a sport-related association to an item of clothing, we have to make one up in order for him to wear it.  Case and point, mittens.  J. has always refused to wear mittens and gloves.  Regardless of how cold or snowy it is, J. will suffer through freezing, bright red hands to avoid having to wear mittens.  I even knit him a pair and let him see me knitting hoping that would result in some warm hands, but nooooo.  I took a chance and purchased some Bear Hands last month.  When J. saw them, he promptly called them his hockey mittens and slapped those things right on his hands. They my not be home made, but at least, he has warm hands on cold days now.

Like most 2 year olds, J. loves cars, trucks, and just about all things that have wheels. I took a chance and decided to sew him a new Oliver and S Sailboat Top since he out grew the one I made for him last year. Since I knew I wanted to use a non-sports related print, I figured Michael Miller’s Haul It in citron would be something he would wear.  I even showed it to J. before and after sewing the top.  He seemed to love it and liked pointing out the dump trucks, motorcycles, and ladder trucks.  But, when I put it on him this morning, he screamed, and screamed, and screamed as he rolled on the floor trying to take it off.  The only way I was able to get him to wear the shirt out of the house was to put a baseball hoodie over it (sigh).

Hopefully, my sewing ego won’t be scarred for too long.

12 Responses to “My son is tortured by my sewing”

  1. Sascha March 5, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I love it! I mean from what I can tell, it’s pretty cute. I have the same fabric and have the Oliver pattern but have never used it. I think I’ll give it a try! Since I’ll be making this in a 12 or 18 month size I’ll keep my fingers crossed the reaction won’t be as strong when he puts it on.

  2. amber March 5, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Such a cute shirt! I’m sorry his reaction to it wasn’t a bit more complimentary. 😉

  3. amber March 5, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Hey! Comments finally are working!

    So, I’ve been a lurker on your blog for months b/c the comments I’d try to leave would never go through. 😦 I just wanted to let you know that I just adore the clothes that you make for your cute little kids and they’ve really helped to inspire some of the dresses and such that I’ve been making for my friend’s daughters. I’m always interested in what you’re making up next!

  4. Este March 7, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I know that face! The shirt and the kid both look fantastic, even if one is cringing. Oh 2 year old boys. Sigh.

  5. Crista March 9, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    Oh how I love these photos! The fabric and shirt is great.
    Sorry he did not like it, but I do!

  6. larissa March 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    well, he is craaaazy because it is a super cute shirt. Love your dandelion dress too, by the way. It fits you perfectly. I must get that BBW book!

  7. Heather March 15, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Super cute Jeanne! I love that you took the close up of the fabric from the pic of him rolling around on the floor having a fit! Gave me a chuckle. Hopefully he’ll grow out of this phase!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Appliqued T-Shirt and Pencil Roll « Night Knitter - March 29, 2010

    […] 28, 2010 Filed under: Knitting — bobble @ 3:36 pm Using left over fabric from J.’s Sailboat top, I made a crayon roll and appliqued t-shirt for one of H.’s classmate’s […]

  2. Travel Knitting « Night Knitter - July 26, 2010

    […] jumping at this request and purchased some corduroy for him over the weekend.  Hopefully, J. will actually wear something I have made for him.  I’ll start on a pair of pants for him just as soon as uniform sewing […]

  3. Baseball Sailboat Pants « Night Knitter - August 29, 2010

    […] I haven’t tried to sew anything for J. since my last endeavor in the spring ended with a massive meltdown. Lately, every time he sees H. in front of the photo wall (a spot in our dining room H. insists all […]

  4. Seersucker Pants « Night Knitter - June 13, 2011

    […] story pjs, oliver and s Many of you know how picky my son is when it comes to his clothes.  He doesn’t like to wear anything with buttons. He will even go so far as wearing his shorts backwards, so he doesn’t have to see a […]

  5. Little Lisette 2063 – View C « Night Knitter - August 24, 2011

    […] going to try and make her a few weekend dresses for the fall and attempt to do some sewing for J. (if he agrees to wear what I make him). Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Study Says Sea Lice […]

Leave a Reply

