What H. is Calling Her Princess Dress

24 Feb

Continuing on my Anna Maria Horner kick, I made H. a dress using cotton voile from the Little Folks Dobby Dot Collection. The dress was made using Simplicity pattern 2711.  I choose to do view B, but opted not to add the lace on the yoke or the hem given the scallops on the fabric. The skirt of the dress has a gather at in the middle resulting in the scallops not lining up. I did attempt to align the scallops in the center of the dress.

Given the puffy sleeves, the delicacy of the fabric, and the royal blue, H. has deemed this her princess dress.  She wanted to wear her fancy sparkle shoes to school today, but since it is raining, we opted for her boots.

Here, she is trying to be a figure skater.

It is pretty rare when I get to finish both a sewing and a knitting project on the same night, but that was exactly what happened last night.  I will post photos of the Shalom cardigan as soon as it is dry from blocking.

I’m not quite sure what I will take on next (aside from some small presents for upcoming birthdays), but it will probably be something from the new Built By Wendy dress book.  I’ve earmarked so many dresses out of the book I am dying to sew.

3 Responses to “What H. is Calling Her Princess Dress”

  1. Este February 25, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    You’ve got quite a model there! Great dress… can’t wait to see what you work up from the new Built by Wendy book — I am sure I will run out and buy it after seeing your work!

  2. sewbissy March 14, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I’ve really wanted to get my hands on some of this new voile from Anna Maria Horner. What a cute creation from this fabric!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sister Scarf « Night Knitter - August 4, 2010

    […] Sister Scarf August 4, 2010 Filed under: Accessories,Finished Projects,Gifts — bobble @ 6:01 am Tags: Anna Maria Horner, Cotton Voile, Little Folks, present, scarf My big sister has a big birthday this month.  H., J. and I are hoping on a plane this weekend to visit her.  As part of my sister’s birthday present, I made her a scarf using half a yard of cotton voile from Anna Maria Horner‘s Little Folks line and some leftover fabric from this dress. […]

Leave a Reply

