Celia Cardigan

19 Feb

After seeing friend of mine make the Celia Cardigan by Karen Semo for her daughter, I thought I would make one for H.  It seemed like it would be a great transition sweater. I purchased 4 hanks of Cascade Yarns 128 Chunky Solid in summer pool on sale. Since the yarn is so chunky, I was able to knit the cardigan in just a few nights while watching the Olympics.  This sweater could have easily been knit all in one piece to minimize the seaming.

Sorry for the poor quality of the photo.  The sleeves are the same length, but they look slightly off in this photo. I took picture with my phone and will try to take a few more over the weekend.  H. has been too busy having a blast with my visiting mother-in-law to try on the sweater.

In all honesty, I am not a huge fan of the puffy sleeves.  They just look so out of proportion with the chunky yarn.  I think making sweater with puffy sleeves using a worsted or even fingering weight yarn would have been ideal.

I may try and make this again without the sleeves, and just pick up some stitches around the arm holes to make it a nice vest.


3 Responses to “Celia Cardigan”

  1. Jaala Spiro February 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Hey, Jaala from Knitcircus Magazine here. I’m really enjoying your blog; my daughter’s a little older than yours and won’t wear dresses any more… We love that you do both sewing and knitting, because they’re dear to our hearts, too.
    If you’d like to check out a copy of our Spring Pattern Collection, please shoot me an email: jaala AT knitcircus DOT com and I’ll send one your way!

  2. Shahar February 19, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    It turned out really nice! I hope Hazel gets some use our of this. A has refused to wear the one I knit her and it has been hanging in the closet untouched… Oh well.

  3. Tanpopo March 8, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    I absolutely love this gardigan and pretty much everything you sew and knit. I’m glad I came across your blog, which is a delight for the eyes !!! See you soon !

Leave a Reply

