Why I Should Sleep More and Sew Less

1 Feb

I am starting to get used to the predictability of catching a cold once a month. I am sure a big part of this is due to the fact that I don’t get enough sleep. Since I only sew and knit after the kids are in bed, I’ve come to realize that my attention to detail is a bit foggy once the evening hits.  I will readily admit I am a morning person and find mornings to be the most productive part of the day for me.  To bad my mornings are spent at work instead of in front of the sewing machine.

Case and point, the reversible Anna wrap dress I made for I.’s 5th birthday.

For one side, I used Little Roses in teal and Floral Diamond Emerald from Valori Wells‘ Olive Rose line.

For the other side, I used Michael Miller‘s Chinese Lanterns and Pink Wild Roses by Valori Wells.

Everything was going so smoothly .  It wasn’t until I had finished the dress and was snipping the remaining dangling threads that I noticed one major oversight. Can you see what I did wrong?

I don’t think I have made this big of a mistake since I made this jumper for H.

My husband didn’t notice until I pointed out to him that something was wrong with the dress, so I am hoping I. doesn’t notice either.  At least, she can flip it over and wear it with the other side facing.

7 Responses to “Why I Should Sleep More and Sew Less”

  1. Lisa February 1, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I recently did this too! It was noticed after I cut out all of the pieces, and no one else caught it but I just couldn’t bring myself to sew the pieces together. They are now waiting to be recut for little sister – I think the smaller size pieces will fit in the right orientation. Please, please!

  2. Crista February 1, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I love the fabric you chose. You are so good at putting it all together.
    I have made this mistake ….too often!

  3. Kristina February 2, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I figured it out, but only because you gave the hint!
    Very nicely done despite the wrong orientation of the fabric.

  4. emily February 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    i think it’s lovely nonetheless. just say they’re hot air balloons! 🙂

    i adore your blog. you have great taste and amazing skills!

    • bobble February 22, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      How perfect, Emily! Thanks for the comments and for visiting my blog. It is always so wonderful to hear from folks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reversible Skirt and Birthday Tally Shirt « Night Knitter - July 28, 2010

    […] H. a tally shirt and a reversible skirt using fabric from Heather Ross’s Far Far Away 2 and leftover Michael Miller fabric (this time I made sure the lanterns were right side […]

  2. For upcoming birthdays « Night Knitter - January 17, 2011

    […] I made this dress with leftover yardage from this Anna wrap dress. […]

Leave a Reply

