Thinking of Summer On One of Our Coldest Days

29 Jan

I am ready for warmer weather!  In the midst of the current New England cold spell, I have started thinking about clothes H. can wear in the summer. I’ve been looking through my patterns and coming up with a mental list of items I want to make for H.’s spring and summer wardrobe.

Since I am a sucker for Japanese sewing books and have an entire book shelf to prove I have an unhealthy obsession with them, I’m determined to make most of her new clothes from the books I already have.

A few years back, I purchased this lovely little book by Junko Okawa

I held off making something from it since all of the patterns start for 4-5 year olds.  Make Good Books has been translating Japanese craft books into English and recently translated this one.

Using some a light blue and white striped fabric and a white on white polka dot print  from my stash, I made the dress with ruffle trim from this book. The hems of both the ruffle and the dress are unfinished. When I washed the fabric, the selvedge for the white polka dots had a nice even fray to it, so I used that for the ruffle and the lining.  I went ahead and finished off the hem of the dress since I had added a longer seam allowance when I was tracing the pattern.  For the button, I used a navy blue button from my vintage button stash. The pattern called for the adorable ruffled sleeves, but I left those off.  Now, the dress is totally reversible.

Here are photos for the blue and white striped side with the polka dot ruffle peeking out:

Here is H. trying on the white-on-white polka dot side of the dress:

I made it for a 5 year old.  Even though the dress is still a bit big in the chest area, I think I could have made the dress a bit longer.

Do you recognize the hat H, is wearing?  I made this bobbled tam for me last year, but H. has claimed it as her own.  I think it looks much better on her than it did on me.

3 Responses to “Thinking of Summer On One of Our Coldest Days”

  1. Lisa January 30, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    That is super cute. I like seeing it in a version other than the one in the book, sometimes it’s hard to imagine some patterns other than how they are shown. Maybe now I will… run.out.to.buy.this.book!

  2. Este January 30, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    very cute. can’t wait to see more of the spring/summer 2010 line 🙂

  3. Crista January 31, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Just love the unfinished hem. It looks great, she is such a good model!

    Will spring come soon please!

Leave a Reply

