Rolls of Color

19 Jan

I’ve been trying to find projects to help me get rid of my growing mass of fabric scraps.  The drawer in our dining room where I hide all the scraps is starting to overflow.

With a few upcoming birthdays, I thought I would try use some scraps from two Anna apron dresses to make a few gifts.  Using the pattern from Skip to My Lou, I made 2 crayon holders.

Using some leftover Denyse Schmidt (one of my favorite designs by her) and Amy Butler fabric, I increased the height of the fabric, so I could use these adorable triangular colored pencils by Faber-Castell.  They have the cutest animal illustrations on the pencils. I made a little pocket to fit in the pencil sharpener.

I made two pencil rolls using the same fabric.

I also finished another oven mitt.  I looks just like the last one I made.

3 Responses to “Rolls of Color”

  1. Crista January 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    We have those crayons , I love them! I have only made some felt caddy’s but love the rick rack around the edge, what a nice idea. Looks great!

  2. Este January 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    These are a great use of scrap fabric! Those crayons are so cute. And I love all the oven mitts by the way 🙂

  3. Kathode Ray Tube January 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    What a special gift, receiving crayons or drawing pencils in a handmade roll! Great idea and they are lovely!

Leave a Reply

