Kaino

15 Jan

I always seem to reward myself after the holidays by making something for me.  On Christmas, I started working on the Kaino sweater by Norah Gaughan.  I used 4.5 skeins of Berroco Ultra Alpaca in black. I really like the subtle details in pattern with the capped sleeves, the ribbing in the middle of the back, and the v in the back of the collar. If I were to knit this again, I would decrease the number of increases for the hip shaping and make it an inch or two longer.  Other then showing all the dog hair, I love it!

As you can see in the photos, I didn’t remove any dog hair before (or after) the photos were taken.  Dog hair on my clothes is inevitable in a house with 3 dogs.

On my needles now is a sweater for my husband.  I’m hoping to finish it time for Valentine’s Day.

6 Responses to “Kaino”

  1. Crista January 15, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    This is just stunning! WOW

  2. a fan of anything chocolate January 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Love the sweater and the fit looks perfect !

  3. melissa January 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    that came out great. i’ve been wanting to make that sweater for a while now. inspiring.

  4. carrie January 27, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Hello there! You are a recommendation in my google reader so here I am!

    Just one thing, how do you get your stitches so tight!? Try as I may, my stitches simply will not tighten up. Your sweater is beautiful and I’m impressed that you can knit so quickly. I’ve never knitted anything for myself because I’m afraid it would take me forever to finish!

    • bobble January 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Hi Carrie,

      Thanks for listening to you Google Reader and taking a look at my site 😉 Nice to know there are real people who actually visit.

      I knit pretty tightly–must be all of my pent up stress. You may want to try knitting with smaller sized needles than what a pattern calls for to see if that helps. If you do that, make sure you check your gauge before you start on your project.

      Thanks again for visiting!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Little Love Bugs « Night Knitter - February 11, 2010

    […] my husband a sweater as part of his Valentine’s Day present especially since he read it here.  Who knew he read my blog?  Certainly, not me.  As soon as I finished the sweater, he asked to […]

Leave a Reply

