Holiday Leftovers

15 Jan

I love cooking, rather I love eating. One of my favorite cooking items in my kitchen is a nifty oven mitt by Orla Kiely. It is all one piece with pockets for your hands.  Bye bye are the days of misplacing one oven mitt and risking burning whatever is baking in the oven while I search for it.

In mid-December, when I received the latest Sew Hip magazine in the mail, I was thrilled to see a pattern for a similar oven mitt. I quickly vowed to add this to my long list of holiday crafting. I had grand schemes this year and wanted to try and make most of my holiday presents.  I am proud to say I was able to complete all the gifts I had set out to do except for the oven mitts. I had cut home decor weight fabric by Denyse Schmidt and Joel Dewberry for a few potholders the week before Christmas hoping to get in some last minute sewing.  Little did I know that I would be hit by a horrible cold that would last right through the holidays.

This week, I finally pulled out my sewing machine and decided to tackle this pattern.  I say “tackle” in jest since the pattern itself is so easy. I was a bit daunted since I am not a quilter and have never used insulated batting. I didn’t use as many different fabric prints as the pattern called for.  I also made it a wee bit longer and added a loop, so the oven mitts could be hung.

I do love the results.  I was able to make 3 and have one more in the works.  I think these will make great gifts.

3 Responses to “Holiday Leftovers”

  1. Crista January 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Oh I love these. I have been thinking of making some with all the leftovers! What a nice project.

  2. Susana Estevam January 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    They look beautiful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rolls of Color « Night Knitter - January 19, 2010

    […] also finished another oven mitt.  I looks just like the last one I […]

Leave a Reply

