Weekend Travel Bags

7 Oct

Using the leftover fabric from J’s raincoat, I broke out my copy of Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing and made two weekend travel bags.  With Liesl’s amazing advice, I purchased a walking foot for my sewing machine which made it so much easier to sew the Etsuko Furuya’s Echino cotton laminate.

This travel bag was given to one of my most beloved friends and previous roommate, Scott. The pattern said to hand stitch the side panels.  My hand sewing is pretty lack luster, so don’t look too closely. Hand sewing with this fabric was quite a challenge.

I made another one for me with the remainder of the leftover raincoat fabric, but I opted to use my sewing machine to attached the bottom side panels.

These bags are so fast and easy to make that I have churned out a total of 5 weekend travel bags (this photo only has 4 since I already had given Scott his travel bag when this photo was taken).

Main fabric is Mocca by Alexander Henry.

The main fabric is Amy Butler’s August Fields Fresh Start in Seafoam and the lining is Chestnut Branches by Joel Dewberry.

The main fabric is Bright Buds in chocolate by Amy Butler and the lining is orange canvas.

The only downside of the pattern is that you can seen the seams inside of the bag.  I think it would look a bit nicer if those seams were hidden. I’m planning on making more of these for holiday presents.

7 Responses to “Weekend Travel Bags”

  1. molly October 7, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    I really like the first one especially. I’d love to buy Weekend Sewing but I really feel like I have to make a few projects from other books I have that go unused….

  2. Melissa November 10, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    Those are fabulous! Thank you for sharing them. I was looking for a pattern just like this for holiday gifts for the teens in my family. I have passed by the Weekend Sewing book at the book store a few times, but I missed this pattern. Off to the store to bring it home and make it mine!

    Thanks.

  3. Melissa (2) November 19, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    Hi! I love your bags. I’ve just started to make my first one from Weekend Sewing and the 16″ zipper doesn’t align with the bottom edge of the top panels as shown in the diagrams…what am I doing wrong??? The zipper measures 17″ start to finish and the panels are 18 1/2″ as per the pattern.

    Thanks!

    • bobble November 19, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

      Hey Melissa,

      The diagram is misleading. The zipper won’t go to the edge of the top panels (unless you get a longer zipper), but that is totally okay. Center the zipper, so there is an inch or so on each sides of the zipper. Once you sew on the bottom side panels, these will cover up ends of the top panel.

      Hope that makes sense. If not, let me know, and I can post a photo.

      • Melissa November 20, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

        Bobbie,

        Thank you so much!! I’m a beginner sewer and I was just baffled, and then really disappointed because this is my first project using a zipper!

        I really appreciate the response, and now I’ll get sewing!

        Melissa

  4. Annie November 20, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    Hi —
    I just came accross your site following a photo on flickr…

    I’m glad Melissa asked the question — and glad you answered it — i’m attempting this too and was thinking I didn’t buy the right zipper!

    Thank You!
    Annie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Bags « Night Knitter - November 23, 2009

    […] Weekend Travel Bag I am in full holiday gift-giving-production mode.  Not to long ago, I made some weekend travel bags from Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing to give away as presents.  These are so quick and easy […]

Leave a Reply

