Appliqued Shirts

7 Oct

The fall birthday season is in full swing.  For some reason so many of our loved ones have birthdays in September and October, so I have been spending most of my free time making presents.

A while ago, my friend Nan, sent me a wonderful link which showed a tally shirt (I have since lost the link). I loved the brilliant idea to add appliqué a shirt which had a tally mark to denote the child’s age.  Since it would only work for kids 5 and over, I have been waiting for our group of kids to pass the 5 mark.

I. turned 5 in September, so I made her a Lazy Days Skirt using some striped corduroy fabric and trimmed pink and brown ribbon.  My sewing machine was acting up a bit, so her tally shirt didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked.

I made two other tally shirts and another numbered shirt, but I accidently deleted the photos when I was transferring data from my old laptop onto my new one.

3 Responses to “Appliqued Shirts”

  1. Nan October 11, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    The tally shirt looks so cute! I love that you can use scrap pieces of fabric for them 🙂

  2. Lisa October 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    http://www.houseonhillroad.com/my_weblog/2008/11/tally—ho.html
    I think this is the link. Anyhow, I saw that too and love it. It just seems I never think of it at the right time. Maybe starting now for next year’s birthdays would do the trick. That is a really cute birthday outfit.

    • bobble October 28, 2009 at 9:11 am #

      That is it!

      Thanks for posting the link, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

