A New Dress for Me

15 Sep

With all the sewing I have been doing these part two years, I haven’t really made much for myself.  In fact, I can count  the items I have sewn for myself with two fingers.  Now, I can add a third to keep the other two company.  The first dress I have ever sewn for myself is now complete.

I’ve had this pattern and fabric for quite sometime, so it was nice to finally be able to get it actually sewn. This Built By Wendy pattern (Simplicity Pattern 3835) is the same one I used to make this top when I was pregnant with J. It was fun to sew darts in the back of the dress.  I have never sewn darts before.  It was also nice to be able to hone my zipper sewing skills (which still needs a bit of work). Overall, I think it turned out quite nice.  I think my favorite part of the dress are the two front pockets. Since having children, I have become a huge fan of anything with pockets.  Now, I just have to remember to empty out all the junk that ends up getting stored in those pockets.

The only pattern adjustment I made was to make the sleeves a week bit longer, so they hit right above my elbow.

I think this dress would look wonderful in a solid fabric since any of the details get lost with the busy print.  The upside of using such a colorful fabric is that it hides my mistakes.

I would love it if Wendy came out with patterns for her fall line.  There are so many beautiful items!

One Response to “A New Dress for Me”

  1. Este September 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    I love the dress on you! Will look great with a handknit cardigan…

Leave a Reply

