Tulip Skirt

30 Aug

I am a big fan of Jenny Gordy and the clothes she sells under her Wiksten label and was really excited when Stitch Magazine published her Tulip Skirt pattern. I was also really excited to see that Martha from UNIFORM Studio had a skirt pattern in the same issue. I knew I wanted to make both.

I’ve only sewn one thing for myself since I started sewing again. I have accrued a few patterns I’ve been wanting to try out, but I suppose one of the reasons why I rarely sew cloths for myself any longer is that I never know how the final garment will fit.  Case and point: the Tulip Skirt.  I love the way this skirt looks on the hanger, but on me, it just isn’t very flattering.  I like the tailored look of the pleats, but the skirt I made poufs out in the back in all the wrong places. It is still wearable if I out a sweater over it to weigh down the back.

The directions were somewhat confusing, so I ended up adjusting the placket a bit and did a top stitch to keep the inside of the waistband from looking too unsightly. Perhaps if I would have known there were mistakes in the pattern and searched for the corrections, it would have turned out better. I suppose I should give it another shot to see if the corrected instructions address some of the issues I have with the fit of the version I made.  If anything, if all went well, my confidence level for sewing adult clothes would boost tenfold.

4 Responses to “Tulip Skirt”

  1. peacockchic August 30, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Boo! What a bummer because the color and that shirt is FANTASTIC!! I say give it another try because there is a world of wonderful clothes waiting for you.

  2. Kelly Davis August 31, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    It looks great to me! I love Wiksten stuff, too.

  3. paula November 4, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    I had the same problem – the skirt gave me a total bubble butt. I was thinking about re-doing the back and putting darts in instead, since the front is really cute! There are some errata, which Jenny posted on her blog: http://wikstenmade.blogspot.com/search?q=tulip

    • bobble November 4, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      Hi Paula,

      I wear mine all the time now. I want to try making another one with the errata.

Leave a Reply

