See and Sew B5198

29 Aug

I picked up the Butterick Sew & Sew B5198 pattern last year intending to make it for H. last summer.  When I got home, I realized I had purchased the 4-6 version of the pattern instead of the 1-3 sizes. On the adorable model, the looseness skirt of the skirt looks really cute, but as I was sewing, I begin to think the dress was starting to look more and more like a muumuu . It didn’t help that the fabric is a bit on the homely side. I thought it came out looking a bit Little-House-On-The-Prairie-ish. I must admit, the only reason I picked up this fabric was that it was navy blue with a lighter blue which would compile with H’s uniform requirements.

My friend Crista recently finished making this dress for her daughter, but she added a belt.  I quickly followed suit. I think the belt transforms the dress.

4 Responses to “See and Sew B5198”

  1. Jeannine August 30, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    I think it looks adorable, and since blue is a great color on your adorable little one, it is perfect for school. BTW, I think the pattern is cute.

  2. Crista August 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Oh I do love this with the belt! I have to agree with you the pattern is a bit old fashioned, I wonder what will happen if you use a different fabric for the yoke and a 15cm colour band at the bottom….maybe there is a new dress on the way!

  3. liz September 8, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    i made this dress and it was huge!

    http://tracyandlizsblog.blogspot.com/2009/04/whats-girl-to-wear.html

    i love the idea of the belt… i just figured she would wear it in 2 year or something 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puppet Show Dress as a Uniform « Night Knitter - July 27, 2010

    […] two in the lost and found a few times.  I thought this was a funny request since she only has two dresses for school that have belts.  I’ve been able to fulfill her no belt request with this […]

Leave a Reply

