Making H’s School Uniforms

3 Aug

H. starts in the local public school system this fall.  The school she will be attending has a dress code: dresses in navy blue, skirts and pants in navy blue or khaki, shirts need to be light blue of white.  Ever since we found out her school assignment, I have been trying to think of what I can make her given this restrictive and somewhat bland color palette. Luckily, someone at the school informed me that the fabric I use to make H’s school uniforms need not be all solids I can use stripes, gingham, flowers or polka dots. I may end up pushing the boundaries with this.  Is that bad for me?

I have 6 weeks to try and make her school clothes. Last week, I kicked off my school uniform sewing marathon by completing two dresses and a quick skirt.

I loved making the Anna Wrap dress earlier this year. It has become one of H’s (and my) favorite dresses. I made her another reversible one she could wear to school and on the weekends.

School side:

I made this using a cotton sateen in navy blue for the front.  The back has a print from Amy Butler’s Lotus line peeking out.

On the other side, the main fabric is the same as the one peeking out from the other side.  I also used a bold polka dot print from the Lotus line. H. already prefers to wear it on the “weekend” side:

I love the little pockets that are on the side of the Puppet Show shorts.  I knew I wanted to put that same pocket on a dress. This a-line dress was made from the same sateen cotton navy blue fabric used for the Anna Dress. For the facing, the front pocket, and the back button hook, I used leftover fabric from the pillow shams I made for my sister-in-law.

I was also able to make a quick Lazy Day skirt in this bold print.  I think I may be hitting up against the dress code restrictions with this one, so I am considering this a weekend skirt.

8 Responses to “Making H’s School Uniforms”

  1. Kristina August 3, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    OMG, these are so cute. H is going to be the best dress kid in school! Watch out!

  2. Crista August 3, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    Oh Wow! she is going to rock in school! LOVE IT.

  3. Este August 4, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    way to work with the color scheme! these are some lovely outfits

  4. christina September 8, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    The Farbenmix dress is stunning — nice job! I haven’t seen this pattern made up before and it really comes alive with your fabric choices. I’ll have to give it another glance for my own skinny bean.

    P.S. There can never be too many knitting and sewing blogs 🙂

  5. Christy July 3, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Those are really cute I can’t believe they pass as school uniforms. Way to go.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anna Wrap Dress for M. « Night Knitter - December 24, 2009

    […] Mae Orchid. I hope M. loves her apron dress as much as my daughter loves the two I have made for […]

  2. Anna Wrap Dress for school Auction « Night Knitter - March 29, 2010

    […] always gets compliments when she wears one of her two Anna Wrap Dresses, so I hope it finds a good home. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  3. Reversible Anna Wrap Dress « Night Knitter - April 4, 2011

    […] it away in the back of her closet for now.  She still has two other apron dresses–one for school and one for the weekend– that still fit her for now.   Leave a Comment […]

Leave a Reply

