Popover Sundress

5 Jul

H.’s birthday is coming up at the end of this month. As soon as I saw the Oliver and S Popover Sundress (published in Sew Hip), I knew I wanted to make this for her 4th birthday dress.   The shoulder ties remind me of the first birthday dress I made for H. when she turned 2.

Since our July is packed with visits and trips, I was able to find a free evening and sew the dress.  I used Zinnia Path by Michael Miller for the main part of the dress, medium brown ric rack for the trim, and a polka dot print for the yoke and ties. I loved the way the dress turned out, and I couldn’t wait until H.’s birthday to give it to her.  I’m pretty bad at keeping surprises. H. wore it yesterday for the 4th of July.

5 Responses to “Popover Sundress”

  1. Este July 5, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    happy early birthday to miss H! I love the fabric, and can’t believe you whipped this up in an evening. missing you!!

  2. Crista July 5, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Oh Jeanne,
    Another masterpiece. That fabric is great with her dark hair.
    No wonder you could not wait to give it to her!

  3. Christine July 10, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    This is just so, so beautiful. It inspires me to give an Oliver + s dress a try. I love the colors you chose.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. H’s Puzzle Birthday Party « Night Knitter - August 3, 2009

    […] The color inspiration for the party came from the Oliver and S Popover Sundress I made for H. […]

  2. And more back-to-school sewing « Night Knitter - August 10, 2009

    […] Popover Sundress I made for H’s 4th birthday was so easy and quick to make that I decided to make her another […]

Leave a Reply

