May Back Log

26 May

I can’t believe how long it has been since I last posted here.  It seems as if May has just flown by.   In the midst of various spring-time ailments, I have tried to keep sewing and knitting.  Below are a some of the projects I have finished in the order of completion.

These two letter and number shirts were made for two of friends who attend school with H & J.

I suppose the most adventurous project this month has been a bridal shower gift. My husband’s youngest sister is getting married this summer, and along with the other bridesmaids, we threw a bridal shower over the weekend. One of my amazing sisters-in-law and I wanted to make the bride-to-be a fabulous Denyse Schmidt-inspired quilt.  Since we live on different coasts, since neither one of us are really quilters, and since we were in a bit of a time crunch, we decided that my sister-in-law on the West Coast would make the quilt and have it finished there, and that I would make pillow shams to match the quilt.  Both of us just made up the pattern as we went along.

Here are photos of the unfinished quilt:

Here are photos of the finished quilt from this weekend’s bridal shower:

I love the quilt so much.  I want one now too!  The quilt finisher used a cobblestone top stitch which turned out beautifully.  I forgot to take photos before the shower, so you can’t really see the details too well.  The little fishes are well wishes from the guests that went along with the “Catch” theme we had (along with fishing waiters filled with white tulle and gifts).

Here are photos of the lined pillow shams I made to match the quilt:

Lastly, I made H. a short sleeve version of the 2+2 blouse by Oliver and S using Amy Butler fabric and black linen.  I’ve had the fabric cut for this shirt for well over a month now.  This time around, I opted not to make the ties for the shirt as I did for the long sleeve version I made earlier this year. Instead, I added a tiny little button. I am hoping to make H. some matching shorts in the black linen now that the weather is warming up.

I’m also plugging along on my Dusk cardigan.  I started the sleeves last week.

7 Responses to “May Back Log”

  1. Crista May 26, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    Wow you have been so busy!
    I love the quilt and shams,colours are great! now that you have done it once it will be so easy the second time around!

    Glad it all went well this weekend.
    Crista

  2. Este May 28, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    Love the quilt and shams! What a lovely gift. You definitely need to make yourself one 🙂

    As always, your creations look amazing!

    xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puppet Show Shorts « Night Knitter - May 30, 2009

    […] I picked up the last time I was downtown. This is the same fabric I used to make the trim for the 2+2 Blouse I finished last week. I love the pockets on the sides.  I think I will make more little pockets […]

  2. Outfit Completed « Night Knitter - July 9, 2009

    […] and started on the pants this week. For the pants, I used the leftover gray linen from H’s 2+2 blouse and puppet show […]

  3. Making H’s School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 7, 2009

    […] fabric used for the Anna Dress. For the facing, the front pocket, and the back button hook, I used leftover fabric from the pillow shams I made for my […]

  4. Ready for a New School Year « Night Knitter - September 12, 2010

    […] For the front facing yoke, I used some leftover Moda fabric. […]

  5. Wool Felt Mittens « Night Knitter - February 20, 2011

    […] Using leftover wool felt from H.’s princess hat and leftover fabric from these pillow shams. […]

Leave a Reply

