Mermaid and Seahorse Reversible Anna Wrap Dress

12 Apr

I’ve been wanting to make the Farbenmix Anna Wrap Dress for almost over a year after I saw the dress one of my friends had made for her daughter. I’ve had the pattern for a while, but was a bit daunted since there weren’t any drawings to go along with the pattern. I am such a visual learner that I psyched myself out a bit and over thought this pattern to the point where I almost never made it. If I can sew from Japanese patterns with no English translations, I sure can sew this pattern since it was translated into English, right?

I had decided I wanted to make it reversible, so after getting confused as to which pattern pieces to trace out and add the seam allowances to, I finally had that “ah-ha” moment midway though sewing it all together last night. I ended up cutting a total of 4 pieces of the #1 piece and didn’t use the #2 pieces of the pattern at all. I also made 4 sets of ties instead of 2. Here is the result:

The fabric I used is from Heather Ross’s Mendocino line. I made the dress in size 110-116 cm.

Now that I think I have the pattern down, I would love to make more and try replacing the ties with a button. The pattern is so simple, yet there are so many possible variations.  There are some great photos on Flickr. It is so inspiring to see what others have created.

With knitting, I have been making extremely slow progress on the Dusk Cardigan.

I did purchase some fun fabric to make a few things for J.  Now, I just have to find the perfect patterns. Boy clothes seem to be a bit more challenging since there aren’t as many fun patterns out there, so if you know of any, send the links my way.

10 Responses to “Mermaid and Seahorse Reversible Anna Wrap Dress”

  1. wondermatic April 12, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    Looks great! You are so clever with the reversible idea.

  2. Crista April 12, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Oh Wow! Could this be my favorite…..

  3. Lauren April 19, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Buttons instead of ties would be a great idea!

  4. Lisa April 27, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Thanks for this post. I too have had this pattern sitting around being avoided for the same reasons. So, finding this post was great as you completely inspired me. I linked to you on my blog, hope it’s okay – but I had to, as you really do make beautiful clothing. The post can be found here if you want to see it. http://www.bigeandlittles.blogspot.com

  5. Erin April 28, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    I just bought this pattern as well and I’m not sure how to use it! I hope mine turns out as nice as yours. I would even like to make mine reversible, but maybe I should try regular first.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Making H’s School Uniforms « Night Knitter - August 3, 2009

    […] loved making the Anna Wrap dress earlier this year. It has become one of H’s (and my) favorite dresses. I made her another reversible one she […]

  2. Anna Wrap Dress for M. « Night Knitter - December 24, 2009

    […] Michael Miller’s Mae Orchid. I hope M. loves her apron dress as much as my daughter loves the two I have made for […]

  3. Rolls of Color « Night Knitter - January 19, 2010

    […] a few upcoming birthdays, I thought I would try use some scraps from two Anna apron dresses to make a few gifts.  Using the pattern from Skip to My Lou, I made 2 crayon […]

  4. Anna Wrap Dress for school Auction « Night Knitter - March 29, 2010

    […] always gets compliments when she wears one of her two Anna Wrap Dresses, so I hope it finds a good home.   Leave a […]

  5. Reversible Anna Wrap Dress « Night Knitter - April 4, 2011

    […] of her closet for now.  She still has two other apron dresses–one for school and one for the weekend– that still fit her for now.   Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

