March of the Gifts

22 Mar

I’ve been sewing and knitting a few gifts for a slew of March birthdays (and a baby who is due in April). Since they have all been given or mailed, I thought it would be safe to post them without spoiling it for the recipients. Here is the run down in order of completion:

My friend Kelly requested a light weight gray scarf for her birthday, so I made her the Misty Garden scarf from Scarf Style using one ball of Rowan’s Kidsilk Haze.  Since the yarn is so fine, I choose to use smaller needles than required in the pattern.

For a rock and roll themed second birthday party, I made this appliqued hoodie.  I used guitars from Michael Miller’s Groovy Guitar print.  I also make a matching card.

For my friend Este who is having a baby girl in April, I made her daughter an eyelet yoke cardigan using Butterfly Super 10 cotton yarn.  Since this yarn is a DK weight and since the pattern calls for an aran weight yarn, I adjusted the pattern on the fly. I really liked the way the sweater turned out and want to make one for H.  I used a vintage button from my husband’s grandmother’s stash.

This appliqued shirt and reversible swingset skirt were made as a birthday present for one of our neighborhood friends who will soon be relocating to the west coast.  I am still in denial they are leaving.  I used fabrics by Amy Bulter and Erin McMorris.

And lastly, I needed to whip up something fast for a friend’s 40th birthday, so I made this neck warmer.  Even though spring is here, I am hoping she can wear it on the super cold New England mornings we may have and of course next fall and winter.  I used one skein of Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease and was able to finish this in one and a half nights of knitting.

Up next is the Birthday Dress from the Oliver and S spring/summer line  for H. and the Dusk cardigan by Kim Hargreaves for me.

2 Responses to “March of the Gifts”

  1. Crista March 23, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Wow Jeanne,
    I can not believe how busy you have been. I really like the colour of the scarf against the yellow.
    And that baby cardigan….so sweet.

    I should stop reading blogs and go and work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A bit of Knitting « Night Knitter - January 30, 2012

    […] had requested another light-weight scarf similar to one I made her a few years back.  Using one ball of Rowan’s Kid Silk Haze, I made her Petits […]

Leave a Reply

