Pockets Full of Warmth

1 Mar

Just in time for yet another New England snow storm, I have a new warm and cozy sweater. Last night, I finally finished seaming and blocking the Karri sweater I have been working on these past few weeks. The pattern is by by Norah Gaughan and can be found in Berroco: Norah Gaughan Vol 1. I used 13 balls of Berroco Pure Merino Heather in gray.

I had to rip out part of the collar twice to make it lay flat. The was a misprint in the pattern for the collar which had you do the ribbing after you picked up the stitches for the collar. I made a slight modification to the collar portion by switching to larger needles after I finished  4 inches of st st.  I added another half inch before I started on the ribbing and cast off really loosely.

I was a bit worried when I was finishing up the sweater since the lack of shaping makes it pretty boxy.  I was able to block it to make it a but longer, so it looks less frumpy. I totally love the pockets. They make me feel a bit marsupial.

Now, I am on the hunt for the perfect light weight scarf for a good friend’s St. Patrick Day’s birthday.  I’m hoping to use two balls of gray Rowan Kid Silk Haze I have in my stash.  I found a few lovely lace patterns on Ravelry, now I just have to narrow down my choices.  If you can recommend any amazing scarf patterns, send them my way.

2 Responses to “Pockets Full of Warmth”

  1. Crista March 1, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

    Wow Jeanne,
    I love this sweater! It looks really cozy I love the color.

  2. Este March 2, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Very nice. Especially the pockets! hope you find a good pattern for the kidsilk haze… I can’t think of any 😦

Leave a Reply

