Valentine’s Day

11 Feb

I’ve been spending most of my free time getting ready for my sister-in-law’s Valentine’s Day wedding.  I altered H’s flower girl dress, crinoline, and J.s tux this weekend. Here is H. testing the twirl factor, and J. being miserable trying on his fancy duds.

J. being miserable in his tux.

Inspired by the amazing accessories my friend Crista makes, last night after the kids were in bed, I thought I could try and make some new hair pins for H. and my niece. With the leftover fabric from the alterations to the bridesmaid’s dress I’ll be wearing for the wedding, I made little yo-yos from the satin and tulle.  This was my first time making yo-yos, so I think I may need a bit more practice.  I added some vintage buttons from my never-ending vintage button stash.  Since I don’t have a hot glue gun, I am going to try and pick one up tomorrow before the series of wedding events begins.  I’m hoping H. and my niece can wear these hair pins for my sister-in-law’s bridal tea.

Since H. won’t be at her school for the rest of the week, I made some valentines for her classmates, teachers, and son’s nanny using some card stock I had, fabric scrapes, and Heat n Bond.  H. picked out all the fabric, I cut out the hearts and put them on the card stock, and H. (and J.) drew pictures on them.

Below are some of my favorites as described in H’s words.

“Funny Valentine”:

“J. & H. wearing very big shoes.” (top)

“Daddy holding 2 balls.”

3 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. Este February 11, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Nice hair pins! I love J’s expression while trying on his tux. I just got a hot glue gun (had one years ago, but lost it along the way) and it is so fun and useful! Have fun at the wedding!

  2. Kristina February 11, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    Nice work on everything. The Valentines are really cute. Have a great time at the wedding.

  3. Crista February 12, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    Wow I love H’s art! Those people are lovely. You should copy them and print fabric on Spoonflower.

    She is so creative! I love it.

    Have fun at the wedding, looking forward to some great photos of the kids. Oh and you.

    Nice hair pins

Leave a Reply

