Florian Fox and Bobbled Tam

1 Jan

Happy New Year!

Just before the clock struck midnight, I was able to finish all of my 2008 projects. Yes, life with small children has resulted in many a New Year’s Eve home.

Before we left for Christmas to visit family, I was able to finish everything except stuffing the Florian Fox for H., so this ended up being a New Year’s present instead of a Christmas gift as I had originally intended. The pattern is from Lucinda Guy’s And So to Bed. I used one skein of Ella Rae Classic in gray and some leftover cream yarn from my Minimalist Cardigan.  For the fox’s scarf, I used some leftover yarn from one of my first lace shawl projects.

I couldn’t get a very good photo since H. won’t let the little fox (which she calls a dog) out of her sight.

While we were away, I started on a Bobbled Tam from Vogue Knitting Holiday 2008.  I packed the wrong needles, so the ribbing was done in smaller needles–oh well. For some reason, I kept getting stuck on the second row of the pattern.  Finally after 3 tries just before I was heading out the door to go to a local knitting store to get help, I got it.  I should pay more attention to where commas are placed in patterns. I wish I would have done an extra set of the 10 row pattern to make the hat a bit more slouchy, but overall, I like the results.  I used a little less than 1 and a half balls of Rowan Pure Wool DK, so I may get another ball and make a slouchier version.

Now that all the holiday crafting is over, I am going to try and make and item or two for me before I tackle some baby gift projects for a slew of new littles ones who are due in 2009.

4 Responses to “Florian Fox and Bobbled Tam”

  1. Emilee January 2, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    She’s so cute, and I love that hat especially in that color. Happy new year!

  2. sue January 2, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Oh the little fox does look so sweet. I love the hat you knit too, very pretty.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peekaboo Mittens « Night Knitter - January 21, 2009

    […] these using the smaller gauge and used an extra ball of Ella Rae Classic I had leftover from the Florian Fox.  I made the cuffs longer than the pattern called for.  I hope to make another pair and when I […]

  2. Thinking of Summer On One of Our Coldest Days « Night Knitter - January 30, 2010

    […] you recognize the hat H, is wearing?  I made this bobbled tam for me last year, but H. has claimed it as her own.  I think it looks much better on her than it […]

Leave a Reply

