Village Frock

21 Nov

I have been a big fan of the ladies from the Sugar City Journal. I was so happy when they started to put out patterns, and quickly snatched up one for their Village Frock.

For my sister-in-laws bridal shower next weekend, I made H. one using sateen cotton fabric.  It has a nice subtle shadow strip. Since H. is between a 3 and a 4, I decided to make the dress in a size 4.  The neck is a bit big on her, so I may go back and tighten up the neck line.  Given all the hand sewing I had to do, I my just leave it as it is and throw a turtle neck under it until she grows into the dress.

Overall, I love the way it looks and plan to make her more.  Now, if I could only make an adult version.

4 Responses to “Village Frock”

  1. Jeannine November 21, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    What a beautiful pattern! I love the fabric you used, and imagine it in a summer linen. Gorgeous. Thank you for posting the site.

  2. Crista November 23, 2008 at 9:30 am #

    Wow Jeanne this is so lovely! Looks like a lot of work will look at the site to see how you made it. Well done.
    I love the fabric colour.

  3. Meggan August 7, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Hello! I found your blog while searching for this pattern. I too have fallen in love and can’t find this pattern ANYWHERE!! If you are interested in selling or allowing a stranger to borrow it, please let me know!!

    meggan.wehmeyer@gmail.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Ruffled Chef Apron « Night Knitter - December 1, 2008

    […] are photos of flower girl H. in the Village Frock I made for the […]

Leave a Reply

