Double Breasted Jacket

22 Oct

For over a month now, I have been slowly working in a new sweater for J. Last night, I sewed on all the buttons to his new double breasted jacket (size 18-24 months) from Debbie Bliss Baby Knits Book.

This is the second time I have used this pattern. I made a chocolate brown version for a 6-12 months old when I was pregnant with H.  I was able to pass it down to J, but he out grew that one last winter.  Since I used Debbie Bliss Wool/Cotton and #2 and #3 sized needles and since there was a minimal amount of shaping, this project just seemed to drag on. I ran out of the small leather buttons I used for the front, but I did find some larger ones in my button stash for the back of the jacket. It gives it such a professorial feel which I find pretty amusing. I think my favorite part of the jacket are the pockets.  Doesn’t every baby need pockets to store all of their goodies?

The sweater is still a bit to for him, but he should be able to wear it during this winter and hopefully, next fall.

On the topic of making things for my children to grow into, I pulled out a dress I made for H back in the spring, and was delighted to see it now fits her.  I made this using a pattern from a  Japanese Sewing book.

Now, I am starting to think about holiday sewing and knitting.  I have way too many things in mind and so little time…

3 Responses to “Double Breasted Jacket”

  1. Kristina October 22, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    The jacket is really cute. I like the buttons. How great that H can still fit in the dress.

  2. sue October 22, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    The Double Breasted Jacket looks fantastic and I love the look of the buttons too.

  3. Jessica Vacek February 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I made that for Maeve!
    Ok, I’ll stop stalking your blog now.
    I have a life, I do.

Leave a Reply

