Sunday Brunch Skirt

10 Oct

In the midst of trying to quiet down my cheering husband as he watched the Phillies game last night, I finished the Sunday Brunch Skirt by Oliver and S.  This simple a-line skirt with two front pockets and a kick-pleat in the back was so easy to make.  I left the hem a bit longer than the pattern suggested in hopes H. will be able to wear this next year. I was a bit doubtful H. would like it since she insists that all her skirts be “twirly skirts,” but she loved wearing her new skirt to school today.  I used a thin-wale chocolate brown corduroy.

Here she is against what she calls her photo wall wearing a Burda top I made for her last year.

Below is H. on her way to school wearing her Sunday Brunch Jacket up top.

As you can see by both photos (she had a shoe and sock change before we left the house), H. insists that all her socks be knee highs even if they were intended to be folded down.

Last night, I also finished a simple headband using Heather Baily’s Hooray for Headband pattern.  I’ll be making more of these soon.

5 Responses to “Sunday Brunch Skirt”

  1. Este October 10, 2008 at 2:15 pm #

    The sock detail is great.

    Love the skirt!

  2. Kristina October 13, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    The sock change is very funny. Great skirt.

  3. Tina October 26, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    I love your style!! I am about to start sewing the Oliver + S tea dress with a Robert Kaufmann cool cordoroy! my first project. You have inspired me. where did you find your daughter’s cute brown boots? I think I’ve seen more than one pair of brown boots. I have looked everywhere for some.. thx Tina

  4. bobble October 27, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    Hey Tina,

    Thanks for your comment. I can’t wait to see how your project turns out!

    My daughter’s boots were purchased last year at Nordstrom’s. I am grateful we bought them in a larger size, so she still fits into them. They are by Primigi, so you may be able to find something similar. Camper makes some pretty awesome boots for both adults and kids.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sailboat Top with Ottobre Applique « Night Knitter - July 22, 2010

    […] Sailboat Top with Ottobre Applique November 2, 2009 Filed under: Child,Finished Projects,Gifts,Sewing — bobble @ 8:24 pm One of my daughter’s best friends, “Prince H.” as my daughter calls him, turned 4 on Halloween.  For his birthday, I made him a O&S Sailboat top using Michael Miller plaid fabric.  I added an applique pattern from the latest Ottobre Designs using leftover thin-whaled corduroy. […]

Leave a Reply

