Playdate Dress

20 Sep

For the past week, I’ve tried to work an hour or two a night on the Playdate Dress (in size 4) pattern by Oliver and S. It has helped me keep my mind off of some of the medical issues we’ve become aware of recently.

I used Tumbling Blocks by Andover Fabrics for the main part of the dress–this print was inspired by a quilt in the Winterthur Museum. For the top part of the dress, I used Moda Fabric’s A Morris Garden Kennet . I used more vintage buttons from my husband’s grandmother.

This has to be the most detailed dress I’ve done to date. It even has two side pockets for H to store her lip gloss. The pattern directions are written so clearly that it helped me not feel so intimidated. I did find one possible error. For the trim between the yoke and the dress, the pattern says to cut 3. I only needed two strips. Perhaps for the larger sizes 3 is needed.

I would love to make another using more funky fabric. Towards the end of working on the dress, I started to think the fabric I choose was a bit too old fashioned.

H seemed to enjoy it. Below are photos of her wearing out today as we enjoyed lunch at a local taqueria. J’s in the background wearing a bib and a hooded cardigan I made for him while I was pregnant last year.

5 Responses to “Playdate Dress”

  1. sue September 21, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    The dress turned out beautifully and it does look vintage which is the trend right now isnt it.

  2. Kristina September 21, 2008 at 5:51 am #

    The dress is beautiful! I love the details around the neckline. Great work.

  3. Jeannine October 1, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Oh, I love how it turned out. Yes, it looks vintage, but sometimes a classic pattern needs a classic fabric. I think your choice was great. She looks fantastic in it. I would never have guessed that this was handmade.

  4. Crista October 4, 2008 at 9:09 am #

    I love H in this dress. It would also look great in a fine corduroy fabric.

  5. Barbara June 24, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Of all the Playdate Dresses I’ve seen online, yours is my favorite, largely because of the simple fabrics you chose. It’s exquisite. You inspired me to commission one from my mom for my daughter — thanks!

Leave a Reply

