Birthday Present for A

19 Jul

The summer birthday season is in full swing.  With all the birthdays, it has been hard to find time to make some thing for everyone.  This week, I was able to make a modified swingset skirt and a appliqued shirt for Avigail.

For the skirt, I left out the lining–I supposed I was inspired to make something a bit cooler since we have had some pretty hot days this week.  I changed the original pattern and made the top of the skirt a few inches longer to make the casings for the elastic and the tie. I used the same cotton poplin I used to make a Tea Party Sundress.

For the appliqued t-shirt, I took an idea from one of my fabulous sisters-in-law.  For my daughter’s birthdays, my sister-in-law has always put applique on a peice of clothing with a H on the front and the age of my daughter on the back. Since she moved back to the West Coast in the winter, I thought I carry on her tradition among my daughter’s friends.

2 Responses to “Birthday Present for A”

  1. Este July 21, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    Love the age and initial on the shirt! And the pretty fabric!

  2. Jeannine August 25, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    This is a beautiful ensemble. The T-Shirt is perfect for the dress. A great idea. The fabric you used for the skirt is very cute.

Leave a Reply

