Chunky Cabled Sweater

16 Jul

I can’t believe how long it took me to finish this sweater from Zoe Mellor’s Adorable Knits for Tots. It took me a while to figure out the pattern. There was a lot of ripping that happened early on. I am so used to knitting cable patterns with charts, so whenever I encounter one without a chart, I get a bit thrown off. I started knitting this sweater at the end of May using yarn from my stash.  I doubled up two strands of Rowan Scottish Tweed 4ply and used some left over Rowan All Seasons Cotton, but it didn’t seem to look quite right.

After I purchased some Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, I realized there was a mistake in the pattern. Just as well, I like the chocolate brown with light blue trim.

I made the sweater for a 2-3 year old.  J may be able to wear it this winter. Here he is wondering why I put him in a sweater on such a warm summer day.

3 Responses to “Chunky Cabled Sweater”

  1. kimberlee d. holt-holt September 22, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    looking for cable patterns.. love the baby sweater.. i want the pattern.. love the colors.

    kimmie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fetching Wrist Warmers and Tea Party Sundress « Bobble - August 25, 2008

    […] @ 5:25 am Last week I finished a pair of Fetching Write Warmers using left over yarn from the Chunky Cabled Sweater I made for J. I made these using the Magic Loop method and also made them a bit longer by adding […]

  2. 2 + 2 Blouse for H’s Peace Concert « Night Knitter - December 22, 2009

    […] are H. & J. before the concert.  J. is wearing a Chunky Cabled Sweater I made him last year.   Leave a […]

Leave a Reply

