Tea Party Sundress for my Niece

2 Apr

I recently discovered Oliver and S. They make the most adorable sewing patterns for children’s clothes.

As part of my niece’s 5th birthday present, I decided to make her the Tea Party Sundress. This has to be my most elaborate sewing project to date.H.  picked out the fabric at our local JoAnn’s. Since my niece has the most beautiful red hair, Hazel always insists that red is her cousin’s favorite color. So, red fabric it is. I used a solid red for the bodice and bottom interior hem (you can’t see that in the photo), red with white tiny polka dots for the bodice lining and skirt, and baby blue for the trim and buttons. I love the way it turned out. My only complaint about the pattern is that it has 1/2 inch seam allowances which isn’t much to finish off the seams. I wish I had a serger to make the seams a bit neater. Maybe this is my excuse to get one.

I love this pattern so much, I traced one for H’s size and have the fabric in the wash as I type.

3 Responses to “Tea Party Sundress for my Niece”

  1. este April 2, 2008 at 7:36 pm #

    What wonderful work you are doing! I love the light blue with the red, nice color combo. And the oliver + s site patterns look great! What a lucky niece 🙂

  2. adrienne April 4, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    How cute! I love that!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tea Party Sundress for Hazel « Bobble - April 9, 2008

    […] s, Sewing Using fabric I purchased online from Branberry Place, and some left over red fabric from my niece’s dress, I made another Tea Party Sundress.  This one is for my daughter. I used the red fabric for the […]

Leave a Reply

