Sewing in Japanese

25 Feb

In December, I purchased a few Japanese sewing pattern books and was completely blown away.  The designs are so beautiful and fun.  Even though I was totally inspired, I was also a bit daunted to try and start a sewing project based on one of the patterns since you have to trace the patterns, add the seam allowances, and  the directions are all written in Japanese (major set back for this non-Japanese reading sewer).  There are illustrations, so that was my only saving grace.  I decided to start off easy by choosing a pattern that looked similar to previous projects I have sewn.  I chose this simple smock from First Children’s Clothes Making (how is that for an awkward translation).

hajitsuku5.jpg

It is basically a dress version of a Built by Wendy shirt I made last year and shirt I just finished for Hazel.  Using the sizing chart from Hanna Anderson, I decided to sew the dress in its largest size (100cm).  The dress I made is huge!  It almost fits me as a shirt.  Better larger than smaller I suppose. It will be at least another  year or two before Hazel will fit into it.  I am going to try to make a smaller version and cut smaller elastic for the neck and sleeves (since the amount was in Japanese, I just guessed).  Luckily, I have some extra fabric left from the  lime green “Sunburst” print by Joel Dewberry  I used to make this dress to sew up a little skirt.

I did finish knitting up all the pieces of the Minimalist Cardigan.  I’m waiting for my blocking board to arrive before I block it and seam it up.  In the meantime, I’ve started on the Storm tunic.

5 Responses to “Sewing in Japanese”

  1. Este February 26, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    Sounds like fun working on those Japanese patterns! Can’t wait to see your sweater progress…

  2. kaitlyn March 5, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    ah, I’m embarking on the same task this weekend… starting with a small jacket in Girly Style Wardrobe. Something tell me the pattern tracing will be the most time consuming part!

  3. bobble March 5, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    I have that book too! There are some really adorable patterns in there. Good luck!

  4. Mirabellesu March 24, 2008 at 9:19 am #

    nice work, bro

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simple Skirt made from leftover fabric « Bobble - March 11, 2008

    […] are in pretty regular rotation.  Using the leftover Joel Dewberry fabric I had from making this dress, I decided to make Hazel a new little skirt.  It took me an hour to make the pattern and sew it […]

Leave a Reply

