A-Line Corduroy Jumper

16 Feb

I love a-line dresses if you can’t tell by the amount I seem to make. Last summer I made my first set of button holes for an a-line dress using Simplicity Pattern #5489. I loved this pattern so much, I made this dress using pink polka dot thin-whaled corduroy and some left over corduroy from another a-line dress I made for one of Hazel’s friends. After over an hour of looking at all the buttons at my local Joann’s fabrics, I was about to give up when I stumbled across these larger than life plastic pink buttons. They match perfectly and are a bit reminiscent of large Marc Jacobs and Twinkle buttons.

I didn’t notice until I looked at the photo of the dress that I didn’t really do the greatest job lining up the flowers at the hem so they would all be somewhat even. I guess no one will really notice when Hazel is wearing it.  After all, toddlers don’t really stand still long enough in one place.

My work on the Minimalist cardigan is progressing quite slowly. I’m hoping to be able to start on the sleeves tonight.

2 Responses to “A-Line Corduroy Jumper”

  1. Tina October 4, 2008 at 11:29 pm #

    I love your clothes for your daughter. You are my inspiration to start an Oliver +S tea party sundress.

    I hope to make the sundress w/ a brown & pink polka dot cordoroy.

    Where did you find this cordoroy? thanks! Tina

  2. bobble October 5, 2008 at 10:44 am #

    Hi Tina,

    I purchased both corduroy prints at J. Caroline Creative: http://www.jcarolinecreative.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=1016b.

    Have fun making the Tea Party Sundress. It is such a wonderful pattern!

Leave a Reply

