New Projects for the New Year

7 Jan

With all the holiday sewing and knitting behind me, I’ve been able to focus on a few new projects. Since I’ve been making things for others for so many months, I thought I would be a bit selfish and start knitting a few projects for me.

I started on the Belle Cardigan by Wenlan Chia (aka Twinkle) in the fall issue of Interweave, and was able to finish it in a little over a week! Nothing like knitting with super chunky yarn. I still have to do a bit of blocking and am waiting for the buttons to arrive in the mail. Once all that is done, I’ll post it on the site.

This weekend, I dug through my yarn stash and made a new winter hat for me. I made the Gala hat by Kim Hargreaves using 1 skein of Rowan Kid Silk Haze and 1 skein of Kid Classic (both in marmalade). The pattern is from Rowan 36 which came out in Fall 2004. I’ve made this hat before and gave it to my sister-in-law as a gift long ago. I wish I would have made the hat a bit longer to cover up all of my ears. I was able to add some length to it by sewing the bottom edge a bit lower than required.

img_0663.jpg

Here is a photo of Jonah trying it on.

Right now, I have a new pair of socks on my needles. I also have a scarf I was working on before the holidays. I was going to make it as a gift but never quite finished.

Leave a Reply

