Project Back Log

4 Oct

Here are a few items I was able to finish prior to the deliver of Jonah as well as a few projects I was in the midst of working on…

The week before I was admitted into the hospital, I cut fabric for 4 more A-line dresses for 3-year olds. I was able to finish two and just have to put the finishing touches on the other two dresses. Here are photos of the 2 that are done.

The first dress is a gift for a friends daughter who turns 3 in November. I used the remaining fabric I had from making this dress for Hazel earlier in the summer. The second dress is for Hazel to wear next year. I used fabric from the Fresh Cut line and added some brown ric rack at the top.

I started another ruffled scarf when I was in the hospital. This one will be a gift for a friend whose birthday was in September.

I started this raglan baby sweater  from Erika Knight’s Knitting for Two before I went into the hospital and continued to work on it while I was on hospital bed rest. I just added the buttons this morning. I made the same sweater in a smaller size for Hazel when she was in the NICU. For this one, I used the left over yarn I had from making the rolled edge cardigan. Jonah will be able to wear it when he is about 6-12 months old.

I’m not quite sure what knitting project I will start on next. I’m leaning towards doing another ruffled scarf as a way to start some holiday knitting.

9 Responses to “Project Back Log”

  1. Andrea October 4, 2007 at 5:07 pm #

    cangrats on your new baby! I am due in November with a boy. I was wondering what kind of closure you use for the back of the Aline dress. I have an Aline dress pattern but it has a zipper closure in the back and also interfacings and I hate both things. Do you have any suggestions for adapting my pattern? Are you using a pattern for your dress?

  2. Sue October 8, 2007 at 2:26 am #

    Beautiful dresses, and the scarf looks so pretty. I adore the little sweater too, and the colors look so nice together.

  3. bobble October 8, 2007 at 7:06 pm #

    Hi Andrea,

    The back of the a-line dresses has a keyhole opening. The slit is about 6 inches with a button hole made of fabric at the top of the dress. Hope that helps!

  4. Andrea October 12, 2007 at 8:55 am #

    Thanks so much for the tip. I will be using it. It sounds much easier.
    Do you still use an interfacing? Or just hem the edges of the neck and armholes?

  5. bobble October 12, 2007 at 12:41 pm #

    I used double folded (7/8″) bias tape to finish off the neck and arm holes.

  6. Jennifer November 8, 2007 at 4:47 pm #

    Hi…I love the cute little A-line dresses that you have been making. Do you use a pattern to make the ones with the keyhole opening and button? I would love to have the pattern name and # if so. I have a daughter that turned 2 in Aug. and I sew but I’m having a hard time finding a good a-line dress pattern. I am impressed by how creative you are and don’t know how you find the time to finish so many projects! I would love to make the little a-line dress for my daughter…help. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All of my pre-Jonah projects are now done « Bobble - November 4, 2007

    […] week before the baby was born, I started working on 4 a-line dresses. I was able to finish 2, but was half way through the other two when the little guy decided to make an appearance 5 weeks […]

  2. Cabled Baby Hat « Bobble - January 26, 2008

    […] used less than one ball of black Jaeger Matchmaker and some leftover blue yarn I used for trim on a raglan sweater, a hooded cardigan and knee patch pants I made over the summer. Since the hat is in black, I […]

  3. Other January Projects Completed « Night Knitter - February 1, 2009

    […] my cousin’s new baby who arrived this week, I made a raglan sweater using cotton fleece. The pattern is from Erica Knight’s Knitting for Two. I think this has to […]

Leave a Reply

