Projects Completed this week

14 Sep

This week, I was able to finish both a sewing and knitting project. I made a simple A-line dress out of this flower-printed corduroy fabric for a friend whose daughter is turning 3 soon. I am planning to use some of the left over fabric as a trim for a jumper I want to make for Hazel.

This morning, I finished a cardigan for the baby (size 12 months) using Soysilk yarn and some leftover Misti Alpaca yarn I used to make a hooded cardigan and pants for the baby. This sweater is a simple st st pattern with garter ridges. It is knit in 3 peices starting with the fronts and working upwards and downwards to the back. I like patterns like this since there is a minimal amount of seaming that needs to be done. The pattern called for alternating colors with the garter rows, but I decided to just use one contrasting color instead. The pattern is from Chic Knits for Stylish Babies. There are so many adorable patterns in this book, but I’m finding really careless errors in the patterns. This is the third item I have made from this book, and in each pattern, there seems to be at least one error.

With the cooler weather this week, Hazel was able to wear the shirt I finished for her last week along with a pair of orange cords with a bit of matching applique. The pants are still a bit too long (the waist band is pulled pretty high up in this photo), but at least she has room to grow!

4 Responses to “Projects Completed this week”

  1. Donna September 14, 2007 at 2:22 pm #

    What an adorable outfit! The pants aren’t so long they are dragging–I always make my daughter’s pants like that since I hate to spend so much time on something she will outgrow in a few months.

  2. donna September 16, 2007 at 12:37 pm #

    Hi Jeanne: First, hope that you are feeling well as you are getting closer to your due date. I love all the sewing you’ve been doing. Since we last corresponded I’ve gotten a sewing machine, but have yet to sew anything. Your blog is inspiring me to start. I also started my own blog on wordpress too. I’m still trying to figure things out with it.
    I have a quick question for you about the Zoe Mellor Adorable Knits for Tots cabled hat with earflaps: Did you have any problems with the pattern? I’m making the medium and had a problem w/row 11. I’ve put the project down for a while and have been meaning to write you and ask if you had any trouble with it. I started it on 9/3 and needed to have it done today for a gift, but as you can see that is not happening. Maybe it’s me, but I wanted to check with you because you were my inspiration for the book and you’ve made so many already. Thanks! Donna

  3. bobble September 17, 2007 at 8:43 am #

    Hi Donna,

    Nice to hear from you, and thanks for your thoughtful comment. I love the cabled hat you are knitting. That pattern has to be one of my favorite hat patterns for babies and kids. I have made several of them and given them away as gifts. That being a said, I haven’t run into any problems with the pattern. I think is it pretty dead on. Feel free to e-mail me directly and describe the problem you are having, and I’ll try to help you out as much as I can!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A-Line Corduroy Jumper « Bobble - February 16, 2008

    […] much, I made this dress using pink polka dot thin-whaled corduroy and some left over corduroy from another a-line dress I made for one of Hazel’s friends. After over an hour of looking at all the buttons at my […]

Leave a Reply

