Cabled Capelet

31 Aug

I finished a quick project in 2 days. I made Teva Durham’s cabled capelet. The pattern is free from Knitting Daily. I ended up using less yarn than the pattern required. The pattern calls for knitting with 3 different yarns at the same time. Since I didn’t like one of the yarns called for (the Fern), I ended up only using 2 of the yarns (Shale and Moss). I used 2 balls of Shale (35% mohair, 30% acrylic, 20% nylon, 15% viscos)  and only 1 ball of Moss (85% extra fine merino wool, 15%  nylon). The Shale yarn has streaks of gold in it.  Unfortuneately, the gold looks like white in the photo below.

I was going to take a photo with me wearing it, but it looks a bit odd on with my big 32-week-pregnant belly.  I think it will look great after the baby is born.

I’ve been sewing pants for Hazel and have finished 3. I want to add some detailing on some, so when they are finished, I’ll post photos.

6 Responses to “Cabled Capelet”

  1. knittingnoob August 31, 2007 at 10:06 am #

    It looks pretty! I know what you mean about waiting till baby is born. Actually I’m impressed, I can’t knit for myself till post-natal and I lose some weight, otherwise I’d have to knit like XXL and I don’t plan on being that big for longer than say… a year. 🙂

  2. bobble August 31, 2007 at 10:15 am #

    I felt the same way when I was pregnant with my daughter. I am hoping I loose most of the weight quickly like I did after Hazel’s birth. Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

  3. Linda September 10, 2007 at 12:48 am #

    Hi,

    Your capelet is beautiful. I am working on the same one, and I am wondering if there is an error in the pattern on the mock cable chart? Can you email me?

    Thanks,
    Linda

  4. bobble September 10, 2007 at 9:40 am #

    There is an error in the pattern when it come to the amount of shoulder decreases, but in all honesty, I can’t remember what I did to get around it. I looked online for pattern corrections, but couldn’t find any. I should have jotted down what I did on the pattern, but I forgot. Pregnancy makes me rather forgetful. Sorry I can’t be more of a help.

  5. Linda September 10, 2007 at 11:42 am #

    Thanks for the info. What did you do for the symbol on the mock cable chart that was a V with a dot in it? There isn’t one of those in the corresponding key.

    Thanks!

  6. bobble September 10, 2007 at 2:51 pm #

    Hi Linda,

    I increased purlwise by purling through the back and then the front. That seemed to do the trick.

    Hope this helps!
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

