Baby Knee Patched Pants

29 Aug

I finished the knee patched pants from Chic Knits for Stylish Babies by Patricia Wagner to match the hooded cardigan I finished up not too long ago. I made both for a 12 month old, but the pants look way too big. To create the top stitch at the waist band, the pattern calls for machine sewing. This is is the first time I have ever ran something I have knit through the sewing machine. I like the effect. For the pants, I used 4 skeins of Kara yarn and some scrape yarn for the trim. For the patches, I used Misti Alpaca’s DK 4 ply in chocolate brown. I loved knitting with this yarn. It was so soft! I think it would be a great yarn to use to make the sweater on the cover of Interweave Knits from the Fall 2005 issue. I have always wanted to make this sweater.

dscn5575.jpg

Last night, my husband and I watched The Lives of Others. It is one of the best films I have seen in a while. I was able to finish a really simple garter stitch scarf using 1 skein of Lousia Harding’s Sari Ribbon. I just cast on 10 stitches onto #17 needles. Originally, I was going to use this for the button wrap I did last fall, but I ended up going with a different color. I am planning to give this scarf to my mom as one of her birthday presents next month.

In the queue next is to sew some fall/winter pants for my daughter and start on a cabled capelet for me.

2 Responses to “Baby Knee Patched Pants”

  1. este August 29, 2007 at 12:55 pm #

    love the patched pants — fascinating to machine sew your knitting!! 🙂 i think your mom will love the scarf, that yarn is gorgeous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leg warmers and Mittens « Bobble - September 10, 2007

    […] To make these simple stockinette stitch leg warmers, I used the remaining two balls of Kara wool and soysilk yarn I used to make the knee-patch pants. […]

Leave a Reply

