Fall Shirt

24 Aug

I’ve started sewing fall clothes for Hazel. I think this shirt has to be my favorite item I have sewn for Hazel since I started sewing again. I used Burda pattern 9645 and fabric from Joel Dewberry’s Chestnut Hill line. The shirt has two tiny buttons in the front with gatherings in the front and back. In the back there are more gatherings since there is elastic. There is also elastic held together by a zig zag stitch right above the elbows to help create the dramatic bell sleeves. I made slight adjustments in the pattern and put in cleaner seams instead of using the zig zag stich in certain places. I want an adult version of this shirt.

1.jpg 2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

3 Responses to “Fall Shirt”

  1. Joanna September 6, 2007 at 5:21 pm #

    I have this pattern and I’ve been too scared to try it, because I don’t think I quite get how all the elastic works, but I am determined to try it after seeing your two cute versions! Wish me luck!

  2. Andrea heinz October 1, 2007 at 10:41 am #

    I have this pattern too. I haven’t made it yet though. Did you do the thread wrapping thing for the button loops? I was thinking of just making them out of fabric

  3. habitual August 30, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    I love it! I am making one today too (picking up on my left-off weekend from 3 weeks ago)…..your daughter is a doll! 😉

Leave a Reply

