Smocked Coat Finished

23 Aug

The smocked coat I’ve been working on for weeks is finally done.  Having had to wait 2 weeks for an extra ball of yarn to arrive, I had to put the project aside.  The entire ball went to knit the collar. The pattern called for 10 balls  of Cotton Cashmere, but I ended up using 11.  This has happened to me a few times with Debbie Bliss patterns.  Not quite sure why since I always seem to be knitting on gauge.  The collar doesn’t stand up quite as much as I would like, so you can see where I hard to turn mid-row to shape the collar.  You also can’t see the top two buttons.

Even though the pattern is pretty simple, it was a bit tedious since the everything except the collar and a few rows are done in seed stitch.  Having to move the yarn back and forth for every stitch really slows me down.  Even though I really love the way seed stitch looks, having to do it for most of a project is a bit tiring.  I’m glad it is done.  It is big enough to get Hazel through the fall and winter and maybe even through next year too.

The pattern is from Simply Baby by Debbie Bliss.  I used 11 balls of Debbie Bliss’ Cotton Cashmere in chocolate brown, 6 shell buttons, and 2 yards of velvet ribbon.

9 Responses to “Smocked Coat Finished”

  1. knittingnoob August 23, 2007 at 7:46 pm #

    I love this jacket so much! I’ve been wanting to knit it but I don’t think I can afford all that yarn! It looks really great, and great on her 😀

  2. bobble August 23, 2007 at 11:05 pm #

    Thanks for the comment. I was able to get a great deal on the first 10 balls off of ebay, otherwise, I wouldn’t have been able to afford all that yarn either!

  3. hookedupknits August 24, 2007 at 3:07 pm #

    What a great little jacket! Looks adorable!

  4. sarahk September 13, 2007 at 3:04 pm #

    That is so cute!

  5. Kris P September 18, 2007 at 2:56 pm #

    Beautiful… Im about to start this lengthy lil project today. I wanted to use the suggested yarn but cant seem to find a good deal. Instead im going to try it in a cottonplus cream. I can only hope it turns out this well. Your daughter is adorable by the way.

  6. Sheila January 26, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    I love this pattern. Your version is beautiful and your little one is a beauty. I have some yarn bought for this little coat. First the baby blanket, then the coat.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Little Star Sweater « Bobble - May 28, 2008

    […] used blue and cream Rowan Cotton Glace and some leftover Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere. H was a bit cranky the afternoon I tried to get her to model her new […]

  2. Sandbox Pants and Cable Ear Flap Hat « Bobble - September 4, 2008

    […] some left over yarn from the Cozy Tank Top and from the Smocked Coat I made for H, I made yet another Cabled Ear Flap hat for J.  This has to be my favorite hat […]

  3. Baby Boy Sweaters « Night Knitter - November 2, 2009

    […] There are soon to be two new baby boys in our lives–no, I am not pregnant with twins.  These are for friends’ babies.  For one, I made a raglan sleeve sweater using cotton fleece and leftover cotton cashmere yarn. […]

Leave a Reply

