Baby Hooded Cardigan

18 Aug

I finished the baby hooded cardigan from Chic Knits for Stylish Babies by Patricia Wagner. I made it for a 12 month old, but it looks a bit smaller. I used under 4 skeins of Kara yarn (50% soy silk and 50% wool) along with yarn from other projects for the trim. The copper-colored yarn is also a Kara yarn. I am using that to make a pair of pants with a similar trim. The blue was left over Jaeger Matchmaker from the Rolled Edge Jacket I finished last week. The last bit of trim blends in a bit too much. It is Misti Alpaca’s DK 4 ply in chocolate brown. I was thinking about using this to make the knee patches for the pants, but I am not leaning towards using the blue Jaeger.

I’m still waiting for my skein of cashmere cotton to arrive in order to finish the collar for the smocked coat. I ordered it 2 weeks ago and found out yesterday it just shipped! Since it is coming from the UK, I probably won’t get it for another week.

We’ve had a sneak peek of fall here this weekend. Hazel was wearing the hooded cardigan I made her last month. She likes the hood the best.

6 Responses to “Baby Hooded Cardigan”

  1. knittingnoob August 18, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    how cute! I love the blue stitching with the brown, just lovely!

  2. Meredith August 24, 2007 at 8:39 pm #

    I just came across your blog because I am making the same hooded cardigan for my 2 year old! I am finding that it runs really big! Did you have that problem? I wonder if I can shrink mine in the wash?!?!?

  3. bobble August 24, 2007 at 9:42 pm #

    It does run really big as do most of the patterns in the Simply Baby book. My daughter is 2 as well, and I made the largest size (18-24 mo). I’m just going to let her grow into it. I have had the same problem with other patterns by Debbie Bliss. There are two things I made last year that my daughter was never able to wear last fall/winter since they were too big, and I made the size that was appropriate to her age.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Knee Patched Pants « Bobble - August 29, 2007

    […] finished the knee patched pants from Chic Knits for Stylish Babies by Patricia Wagner to match the hooded cardigan I finished up not too long ago.  I made both for a 12 month old, but the pants look way too big. […]

  2. Projects Completed this week « Bobble - September 14, 2007

    […] the baby (size 12 months) using Soysilk yarn and some leftover Misti Alpaca yarn I used to make a hooded cardigan and pants for the baby. This sweater is a simple st st pattern with garter ridges.  It is knit in […]

  3. Playdate Dress « Bobble - September 20, 2008

    […] out today as we enjoyed lunch at a local taqueria. J’s in the background wearing a bib and a hooded cardigan I made for him while I was pregnant last […]

Leave a Reply

