Rolled Edge Jacket

12 Aug

As I was finishing starting on the collar for the smocked coat, I ran out of yarn!  I’ve been waiting for another skein for a week now, so hopefully, it will get here this week.

In the meantime, I was able to start on the Rolled Edge Jacket from Simply Baby.  I think this will be the last pattern I use from this book for a while. Even though I like the way it turned out, I wasn’t too pleased with the pattern.  There were no measurements to guide me throughout the process except when it came to the sleeves, so the back and the two front panels are slightly uneven. Luckily, I was able to remedy that during the blocking process.  Another grip I have is that the pattern calls for way more yarn that one needs.  I didn’t use the yarn called for in the pattern, but based on the yardage needed, I substituted the yarn with Jaeger Matchmatern DK for the blue trim and Jaeger Baby Merino for the main body.  I have 3.5 balls left over of the Baby Merino. I’ll probably make some pants, a sweater, or a few baby hats out of the left over yarn. The last complaint I have with this pattern is the final measurements.  The largest size was for a 12-18 months.  The measurements given seem like it is a sweater I could fit into.  I cut back on some of the rows, and it is still a bit big for my 2 year old.  At least, she’ll be able to wear it through the winter. Enough complaints. Overall, I think it turned out pretty cute.

   

I’ll be 30 weeks pregnant tomorrow and starting my 8th week of modified bed rest.  Looks like I’ll be on it until the baby is delivered.  I’ve been continuing to keep myself busy.  Last night, I started a new hooded cardigan for the baby from Chic Knits for Stylish Babies as well as more bibs.  I also made up a pattern for some burb cloths. These projects should keep me busy for a while.

6 Responses to “Rolled Edge Jacket”

  1. knittingnoob August 12, 2007 at 2:18 pm #

    omgosh that is just so cute! Your two year old is a great model. Did you pose her? I just thought her little feet and the way she is standing is adorable. I love the jacket.

    Hang in there, Ive been on bedrest three different times now. It stinks. I only have a month to go, thank goodness. At least we can get a lot of knitting done, right?

  2. bobble August 12, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    I didn’t pose my daughter for this photo. It is hard enough trying to get her to stand still. 🙂 She crossed her feet herself. I didn’t notice it until after I downloaded the photo. She calls this one particular wall in our living room the picture wall and will insist on having most of her photos taken here.

  3. Jana August 12, 2007 at 11:09 pm #

    I just have to tell you that I think that your little girl is so cute! Good job on the sweater, it is very cute.

  4. Molly W April 24, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    That little coat is adorable. She looks so stylish.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Hooded Cardigan « Bobble - August 18, 2007

    […] to make a pair of pants with a similar trim.  The blue was left over Jaeger Matchmaker from the Rolled Edge Jacket I finished last week.  The last bit of trim blends in a bit too much.  It is Misti Alpaca’s […]

  2. Holiday Knitting is going rather slowly « Bobble - November 26, 2007

    […] yarn from my stash for the front, back , and trim. For the sleeves, I used remaining yarn from the rolled edge cardigan and another raglan sweater I made earlier this year. You can see I was running a bit low on the lime […]

Leave a Reply

