A weekend of sewing

30 Jul

I was able to get a bit of sewing in this weekend. Of course, by the end of the weekend, my ankles and feet were completely swollen from sitting up for so long. Luckily, I was able to accomplish quite a bit to feed my sewing bug for a while. Well, at least for this week.

I finished a new dress of Hazel’s second birthday. This was my first attempt at making up my own pattern. It is a modified pillow case dress. I made the pattern out of muslin and added more shaping than what appears in pillow case dresses. I also added some brown ric rack at the bottom to go with her birthday colors (green, curry yellow, and brown). Hopefully, she will like it.

Taking an idea from Amy’s Angry Chicken blog, I created these simple patches from leftover fabric and sewed them to onesies and new born shirts. These will make great baby gifts for all the new babies who are due. I used contrasting thread to zig zag stitch them down only to discover during the process how difficult it is to sew in a circle.

To add to the onsies, I made 8 patchwork bibs also using leftover fabric and fat quarters. I added some light weight interfacing to make the fabric a bit stiffer and backed them with white cotton flannel.

Here is a baby gift set of a bib with matching onesies I am sending along to one of my co-workers who is due any day now. I made a tag using some scrapes from the bib.

Back in June, I finished this little a-line dress for one of Hazel’s friends. She adores purple, so I thought polka dots on the lavender background would be prefect. We were able to give it to her over the weekend as part of her birthday present. I think she liked it since she insisted on wearing it after she opened it. It looked fabulous on her!

On the knitting front, I started the sleeves for the smocked coat. Hopefully, I’ll have the whole project finished soon since it looks like I may be on modified bed rest for the long haul.

3 Responses to “A weekend of sewing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Gifts « Bobble - August 21, 2007

    […] bobble @ 7:34 pm I have so many friends who are having babies.  Since I already gave away my first batch of bibs and onsies, I made a whole bunch […]

  2. Holiday Jumpers and Bibs « Bobble - December 14, 2007

    […] also made 4 burb cloths. I’ll add these to a bib and a onesie I made earlier this summer and send them off to one of my husband’s cousins. She had her […]

  3. Introducing Baby J « Night Knitter - July 2, 2009

    […] Hazel.  I knit the hat a few months ago when I was first put on modified bed rest, and I put a doggie patch on the back of this shirt.  The blanket was made using fabric by Alexander […]

Leave a Reply

