First attempt at Reupholstery

27 Jul

I was put back on modified bed rest last week, so my nesting continues. Tonight, I dappled in doing a little reupholstery (with the help of my husband, of course). We have an antique dining room set from the 1940s purchased from an estate sale. I’ve had it for about 4 years now with the hope of refinishing it, but we never got around to it. Since refinishing it would require way too many harsh chemicals, I decided to try and reupholster the chairs. The orange velvet on the chairs was in dire need of replacement. Using 2 yards of the Pod’s print from Amy Butler’s Forest line and a staple gun, we now have new chairs that look great in our blue dining room. Maybe next summer we can refinish the tables and chairs.

dscn5353.jpg

before

dscn5355.jpg

after

On the knitting front, I am still working on the smocked coat. I have the back and the left front finished. It is taking so long and all the seed stitch is a bit tedious, but it would look adorable when it is finally finished.

3 Responses to “First attempt at Reupholstery”

  1. este July 29, 2007 at 9:07 pm #

    love the chairs! bet they look great…

    🙂

  2. michelle crossman October 8, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    I was thinking of reupholstering my dining room chairs in this same fabric! I am having a hard time locating this pattern. Where did you find it? Is it the quilters weight or the heavier designer weight? How is it holding up?

  3. bobble October 8, 2007 at 7:07 pm #

    Hi Michelle,

    I purchased the fabric from purlsoho.com. It is upholstry weight, so it has held up quite well.

Leave a Reply

