Teddy Bear and Baby Booties

2 Jul

When I was making the stripped baby sweater for the new baby, my daughter pulled Simply Baby out of my knitting bag and started looking through the book. When she saw the picture of the knit teddy bear, she quickly said, “hold it?” After explaining to her it was only a photo, I asked if she wanted me to make one for her. I no time, she yelled out, “yeah.” Nice to have someone pick your next project for you. I was able to finish this rather quickly and stayed up Friday night to seam and stuff the bear. Given the pale pink, I thought it looked too much like a pig. Once I added the eyes and nose on Saturday night, it bear-ness came shining through.

Yarn: 2 skeins of Debbie Bliss’s baby cashmerino in light pink and a small amount of black felt for the eyes and nose.

You can see that someone was quite pleased with the outcome. She has been sleeping with her bear at night.

Yesterday, I finished a pair of cuffed baby booties using the leftover yarn from the stripped baby sweater. The pattern is from Simply Baby by Debbie Bliss.

I just finished one baby bootie from another pattern. I would have taken a photo of that too, but I left it upstairs. Since I need to minimize taking stairs, I’ll post photos of both booties when I am finished.

I also just received some new fabric I ordered online. Looks like I need to break out the sewing machine! Hopefully, more knitting and sewing projects will help me continue getting through this pregnancy and moderate bed rest.   I’m 24 weeks today.  4 more weeks until the baby is viable.

6 Responses to “Teddy Bear and Baby Booties”

  1. adrienne July 2, 2007 at 9:41 pm #

    Awwwww, too cute!

  2. Sue October 4, 2007 at 1:47 am #

    Oh the teddy is so cute. I will have to make one for some friend’s whose baby is due in a few months time. Yours definately looks like a bear too, and your daughter looks so happy to have it too.

  3. Beverly October 18, 2007 at 12:39 pm #

    The booties are so cute and I am trying to knit them now. I don’t understand the directions.
    cast on 26
    knit first row
    2nd row k1, yo, k11, yo, k2, yo, k11, yo, k1
    how does that equal 26 stitches?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cozy Tank Top « Bobble - August 7, 2008

    […] I am working on making a teddy bear for Jonah’s first birthday. […]

  2. Bear for J-Bear « Bobble - August 15, 2008

    […] we have for him have “bear” in it, so I thought it would be appropriate to knit him a teddy bear like the one I made last summer while I was pregnant for him.  Hazel was the one who received last […]

  3. Cozy Pajamas in O + S Cape Ann « Night Knitter - September 14, 2011

    […] for those well-worn knit bears, I made H.’s when I was pregnant with J. and on bedrest.  J. received his to help celebrate his first birthday. I love the fact they still sleep with those […]

Leave a Reply

