Little Lambs Baby Blanket is Finally Finished

15 Jun

I finally finished the baby blanket I’ve been working on for the new baby. Since I made a sheep blanket when I was pregnant with my daughter, I wanted to make this baby a sheep blanket as well. This pattern is from Vogue Knitting’s Baby Blankets. The sheep are made of little mini bobbles along with a few cast on and cast off stitches to make the ears for each lamb. The blanket has a seed stitch boarder.

I used 3, and a bit of a 4th, balls of Cascade Yarns’ Superwash Wool in ecru. I have enough yarn left over to make a little baby hat and even some matching booties.

Here is a photo of the blanket I made for Hazel back in 2005. She uses this every night when she goes to sleep. When I put it on her and tuck her in, she now says, “Baaaa.”

img_5873.jpg

5 Responses to “Little Lambs Baby Blanket is Finally Finished”

  1. Margaret July 5, 2007 at 3:34 am #

    I like the 2005 lamb blanket. Can you direct me toward a pattern, or at least how to make the lambs? Thank you!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Margaret

  2. bobble July 5, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    The other sheep blanket pattern is from Vogue Knitting on the Go: Baby Blankets Two (http://www.amazon.com/Vogue-Knitting-Go-Baby-Blankets/dp/1931543437/ref=sr_1_1/105-4708601-1371619?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1183646210&sr=1-1)
    There is a chart for the blanket which shows you how to make the sheep. The yarn to make the sheep is really fuzzy. They are created using st st. Nothing fancy.

  3. Dana September 6, 2007 at 5:04 am #

    Hi I want to make this blanket but it would be the first time i make one with motifs in the middle.

    I am confused about making the feet, jumping colors? Please help.

    Do i tie the black and make the st and then cut the black strong and tie the green and stitch and so on and so forth? Tie, cut and stitch? Or is there something i am missing?

    Plus it says hold 2 strongs together when knitting? why?

  4. bobble September 6, 2007 at 2:21 pm #

    Hi Dana,

    I suggest carrying the green yarn so you don’t have to keep cutting the yarn. This will also prevent you from having to weave all the ends in and save you from wasting yarn. You can try and do a google search for how to carry yarn when knitting with two colors. knittinghelp.com may have a video to show you how to do it.

    When knitting the sheep, you need to hold two pieces of yarn together since the white and black yarns are thinner than the green yarn. By knitting with two strands together, you are adding thinkness and making making the yarn give the woolly appearance you want for the sheep.

    I hope this helps. It has been over two years since I knit the green sheep blanket.

    Good luck!

  5. Dana September 6, 2007 at 3:11 pm #

    Oh hehe i did not realize the post was from that time :).

    I love the sheep blanket and yours looks perfect. I especially like the fact that you made one sheep blanket for each of your kids, its very thoughtful hope they realize that when they are much older.

    Thank you very much for you help ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t wait to start this project.

Leave a Reply

