Sewing like Crazy

14 May

I have officially been bitten by the sewing bug. Here are a few things I was able to finish this weekend. All three items were made from Simplicity Pattern 3853.

This is the first dress I have finished for Hazel. I made it in size 3. The sleeves were the biggest challenge, you can see with all the pinning and basting that needed to be done. You can also see that the right sleeve extends lower than the left. oops.

 

I loved this pattern so much, I made another one in size 2T, so Hazel could wear it now. I used fabric from Heather Baily’s Freshcut line. I adore just about every print in this line. I finished this dress on Saturday just in time for Hazel to wear it on Mother’s Day. Here are some photos of her wearing the dress and holding the first Mother’s Day present she ever made for me. She painted the flower pot, and with the help of her fabulous teacher, planted two marigolds.

I also made Hazel a little shirt she can wear this summer. I added ric rack instead of the ruffles listed in the pattern. I just have to add the button in the back as soon as I figure out how to make button holes. Last night, I cut some dark brown fabric to make her some pants she can wear with this shirt.

3 Responses to “Sewing like Crazy”

  1. este May 14, 2007 at 5:38 pm #

    Way to go with the sewing bug! The dresses and top look great. I love the Freshcut fabrics… and I’m impressed with the sleeve work — that is hard!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finished Pants « Bobble - May 17, 2007

    […] Projects, Sewing — bobble @ 7:13 am I made a pair of brown cotton pants to go with the top I finish this past weekend. The pattern is from Simplicity Pattern […]

  2. Holiday Jumpers and Bibs « Bobble - December 11, 2007

    […] so simple and have such nice clean lines. I used Simplicity Pattern 3853 and didn’t add the puffed sleeves.  Since I didn’t want to venture out to the fabric store, I used some leftover biased tape […]

Leave a Reply

