Thinking Dress is Finished

3 May

I finished the Thinking Dress from Miss Bea’s Rainy Day by Louisa Harding last night. I just have to add a button at the back fo the dress.

I used just under 3 skeins a mohair and wool blend yarn from Tintagel Farm (color: Tayberry). I’ve had this yarn in my stash for almost 3 years. When I purchased the yarn shortly after I started knitting, I was planning to use it to make a sweater for myself. I love this yarn and wish I had more. I found out this weekend, that is it all hand dyed and hand spun.  This is probably some of hte nicest yarn I have used to make something for Hazel.  I have 2 skeins in two different colors left.

Since this yarn knits up a bit smaller than the All Seasons Cotton the pattern called for, I added a few extra rows for the neck and the arm band trim. Even though I made this for a 2-3 year old and the final measurements equal those on the pattern, I think it may be too small for Hazel to wear in the fall and winter since it fits her perfectly now. At least she’ll be able to wear it as a tunic. Since I really like this pattern, I think I may have to make another version in a larger size.

2 Responses to “Thinking Dress is Finished”

  1. este May 3, 2007 at 10:43 am #

    I love the cables! The yarn looks very soft from the pictures. Nice work 🙂

  2. Catherine May 3, 2007 at 9:57 pm #

    she looks so adorable in this. good job.

Leave a Reply

